Old #name of #Luxembourg ..#saxonfortress

A post shared by Lingofacts (@lingofacts) on

Luxembourg is named after a Saxon fortress. Luxembourg was founded in 963AD as the County of Luxembourg by Sigefroid, Count of the Ardennes, who built a fort on the site; the ancient Saxon name Lucilinburhuc (‘little fortress’) symbolised its strategic position. Over the years, the little fort became a major fortress.

Luxembourg, country in northwestern Europe. One of the world’s smallest countries, it is bordered by Belgium on the west and north, France on the south, and Germany on the northeast and east. Luxembourg has come under the control of many states and ruling houses in its long history, but it has been a separate, if not always autonomous, political unit since the 10th century. The ancient Saxon name of its capital city, Lucilinburhuc (“Little Fortress”), symbolized its strategic position as “the Gibraltar of the north,” astride a major military route linking Germanic and Frankish territories.

Source: https://www.britannica.com/place/Luxembourg, http://www.expatica.com/lu/about/Top-facts-about-Luxembourg_508539.html