Did you know about the #austria's official name? 😮

A post shared by Lingofacts (@lingofacts) on

The current official designation is the Republic of Austria (Republik Österreich). It was originally known after the fall of the Austro-Hungarian Empire from 1918 as the Republic of German Austria (Republik Deutschösterreich), but the state was forced to change its name to “Republic of Austria” in 1919 peace Treaty of Saint-Germain.

The name was changed again during the Austro-fascist regime (1934–1938), into Federal State of Austria (Bundesstaat Österreich), but restored after regaining independence and the birth of the Second Austrian Republic (1955–present).

Source: http://www.asiatravel.com/europe/austria/austriainfo.html