The Statue of Liberty, which is made of copper and steel, stands on Liberty Island, which is located in New York Harbor. The seven spikes on the crown of the statue represent the seven seas and continents of the world. The statue, whose formal name is “Liberty Enlightening the World,” was dedicated in 1886 by President Grover Cleveland. It was a gift from France, designed by the sculptor Frederic-Auguste Bartholdi to celebrate the 100-year anniversary of the Declaration of Independence.

To reach the crown of the statue, visitors must climb 354 steps, or the equivalent of 20 floors, up a twisting staircase. At the top, there is a view overlooking New York Harbor. The Statue of Liberty is 305 feet, 1 inch tall and faces southeast.